Let’s Talk About Barking!

Let’s Talk About Barking!

Occasionally I have people ask to me to help them fix their dogs barking problem. The conversation usually goes something like this:
“My dog barks a lot. Can you help me?”
“Sure, what is your dog barking at?”
“Nothing”
“Is he barking at you?”
“Nope”
“Is he barking at things going on outside?”
“Only if there are things going on outside”
“What kind of things?”
“Anything”
“So he’s barking at everything, not nothing?”
“No, he will bark when there is nothing going on too”

It’s a “who’s on first” kind of conversation.

Just a heads up, if you tell me your dog is barking, that gives me absolutely no information on what is going on with your dog. If you tell me your dog barks at other dogs while on a walk, or at you while you are trying to read your favorite blog (it’s this one, I know!) then that gives me an idea of what’s going on. To me, barking is a symptom. It’s telling me that your dog is lacking in one of the areas that are important for behavioral wellness, and it’s up to us to figure out why.

In my sleuthing, I will ask you questions like “how much playtime does your pup get every day?” “How much time do you spend with your pup?” and “what does his typical day look like?”

Usually these questions will lead me to a behavior plan of more enrichment, exercise, or better communication with your pup. The end idea being, spend 15 minutes doing something with your pup every day! Together we can come up with a plan to implement this strategy, and get you back on a path to a calm and quiet house hold.

Now, with that being said, don’t ignore your dogs barking. If your pup is particularly chatty then he might be telling you that he is feeling insecure in a certain situation, or that you have been ignoring those basic exercise or enrichment tasks that he is craving. We went to the park for our hike yesterday. It was a particularly nice day, and we arrived a bit later than usual so there was quite a bit more stimulation than they are used to. We also had to run a few errands on our way home, so again, more than they are used to on a given day. I have been on my computer, working for the last 6 hours, and I have not heard a peep out of either one of them. (other than Pixie snoring)

Now, it has not been a particularly quiet day, its trash day, the guy next door has landscapers out, car doors slam and kids got off the bus just like normal. The difference is my dogs are mentally exhausted from their outing yesterday, so no barking at the things that normally would set them off. (Yes, my dogs bark at things. No, they are not perfect.)
Pixie is reactive. (Yes, Crystal, we know!!) When she barks at things, she is telling me that she is scared, and in the past the barking has gotten the scary things to go away. It does not matter if you have a mastiff, a pit bull, or a Chihuahua, that barking out of fear needs to be addressed. It’s not fair to your dog to have them in situations where they are that terrified, without trying to give them the emotional support they need to get through it.
Dragging them away is not what I mean. I am afraid of snakes. If there was a snake every time I stepped foot out the back door, I would stop going out the back door. Unfortunately our dogs can’t tell us what they are afraid of, but we can be better at reading their body language and supporting them.
If you have a barking issue, please contact me so we can get to the root of the behavior and begin working to change it. Commit to making life more enjoyable for the companion you love. You are the only advocate your dog has in this life! Make sure you are on the same page!

Leave a Reply

